Hannes Grobler and Francois Jordaan score
Nissan's sixth successive Off Road win
ABSA Off Road Championship
 Copyright © Nissan South Africa 
Polokwane, (September 8, 2007)
Hannes Grobler and Francois Jordaan won the Ford/Motorite Limpopo 400 in the Polokwane area on Saturday in the factory Nissan Navara, giving Nissan their sixth successive Absa Off Road Championship victory this year.

Making it a memorable Nissan 1-2 were Norwegian Ivar Tollefsen and Briton Quin Evans, who brought the sister class SP Nissan Navara home 12m 7s behind their team-mates. It equalled their best result of the season, when they were runners-up in the Nissan Hluhluwe 400 in April.

Current drivers' championship leader Duncan Vos and stand-in co-driver Richard Leeke were fifth in the third Sasol-supported factory Nissan Navara, 44m 36s behind Grobler and Jordaan. Leeke, a multiple former co-drivers' champion, deputised for former champion Ralph Pitchford, who was unavailable due to overseas commitments.

With two rounds of the championship remaining, Nissan occupies the top three positions in the drivers' and co-drivers' points standings. Grobler closed the gap to current championship leader and Nissan Navara team-mate Duncan Vos to 23 points (113-90). Jordaan leads the co-drivers' championship by 13 points from Pitchford (90-77). Tollefsen and Evans are third in their respective championships with 68 points.

Grobler and Jordaan worked hard for their third win of the season after starting Saturday's race from 13th place among the combined Production Vehicle and Special Vehicle categories.

 Copyright © Nissan South Africa 
"We had a trouble-free run, with the exception of the very poor visibility in the dust on Saturday morning, and were relieved to hit the front of the field about 4.5 hours after the start," said Grobler. It was the veteran drivers' 23rd win for Nissan in 54 starts since the beginning of the 2001 season and it was arguably one of his best performances.

Nissan, represented by Grobler/Jordaan (1st), Tollefsen/Evans (2nd) and Vos/Leeke (5th), won the manufacturers' challenge for the event and, together with Nissan privateers who finished 7th, 10th, 13th and 17th, increased their lead in the manufacturers' championship.

The next round of the Absa Off Road Championship is the Toyota Dealer 400 in Mpumalanga on November 2 and 3.

ABSA Off Road Car Championship Rd.6

Pos Class Drivers Car Time
1 SP Hannes Grobler / Francois Jordaan Nissan Navara 07:21:43
2 SP Ivar Tollefsen / Quin Evans Nissan Navara 07:33:50
3 SP Neil Woolridge / Kenny Skjoldhammer Ford 07:41:14
4 SP Bevan Bertholdt / Robin Honghton Toyota 07:44:33
5 SP Duncan Vos / Richard Leeke Nissan Navara 08:06:19
6 D Cliff Weichelt / Louis Weichelt Nissan Navara 08:10:02
7 D Arnold du Plessis / Johan Knox Nissan Hardbody 08:10:50
8 E Jack Peckham / Lucio Santoro Ford 08:14:48
9 E George Barkhuizen / Sharon Barkhuizen Toyota 08:15:16
10 D Coetzee Labuschagne / Johan Gerber Nissan Hardbody 08:16:11

Page Top