South Africa Production Car Championship
South Africa Production Car Championship
Round19&20 Kyalami
Poulter and Sasol Nissan Pipped at the Post in Final Round of Championship
Kyalami (November 24, 2007)
On a day when the weather played a big role, reigning champion Leeroy Poulter (Sasol Nissan 350Z) was unable to turn pole position in race one to his advantage after heavy rain fell before and during the race and favoured the four wheel drive Audis.

 Copyright © Nissan South Africa 
A fourth in race one and second in race two (when the track was dry) was not enough to overcome the 11-point deficit to Johan Fourie (Audi A4 quattro) and a 9-point gap to Shaun Watson-Smith (Audi A4 quattro). At the end of the day it was Watson-Smith, with a win in race one and sixth in race two who emerged the new champion. Fourie was ninth in race one and fourth in race two and finished the 10-round season a single point ahead of Poulter.

Tschops Sipuka had a great day in the second Sasol Nissan 350Z, finishing a fine second in race one (his best result of the year) and a fighting fifth in race two. Team-mate Gavin Cronje only completed five laps out of eight in the opening race after a clash with Fourie's Audi, but came back strongly to finish eighth in the final race of the year.

Glyn Hall, general manager of Nissan Motorsport:
"The rain played a major role in today's results and consequently on the outcome of the championship, which didn't really help our cause. With Leeroy on pole, a dry first race might have produced a very different result. However, congratulations to Shaun on winning the championship. It was a close-fought battle throughout the season and Leeroy was always in the thick of it. I'd like to thank my team and all the drivers. We did our best and were in with a chance right up to the final race, but we came short at the end of the day - a difference of just four points after 20 races."

Race. 1

Pos Driver Car Time
1 Shaun Watson-Smith Audi 21:18.696
2 Tschops Sipuka Nissan 21:19.409
3 Michael Stephen Audi 21:22.671
4 Leeroy Poulter Nissan 21:23.472
5 S. Fourie Subaru 21:30.384
6 Marco da Cunha Nissan 21:41.739
7 Clint Weston BMW 21:42.251
8 P.Lindenberg Subaru 21:48.919
9 Johan Fourie Audi 21:59.719
10 D.Oliver Subaru 22:07.267
13 D.Joubert Nissan -1Lap:19.601
14 G.Cronje Nissan -3Laps

Race. 2

Pos Driver Car Time / Diff
1 E.van der Linde BMW 15'59"089
2 Leeroy Poulter Nissan 15:59.538
3 Johan Fourie Audi 16:01.928
4 Anthony Taylor BMW 16:09.195
5 Tschops Sipuka Nissan 16:12.424
6 S.Watson-Smith Audi 16:15.651
7 M. Stephen Audi 16:16.075
8 G.Cronje Nissan 16:16.665
9 Marco Da Cunha Nissan 16:17.123
10 C.Weston BMW 16:17.607
12 D.Joubert Nissan 16:18.875