South Africa Production Car Championship
South Africa Production Car Championship
Copyright ©  Nissan South Africa
1The most popular closed circuit race series in South Africa is the Production Car Championship. A passenger vehicles fight for victory wearing street legal Bridgestone radial tires has much versatility in the cars that fill the field. From 4WD to rear wheel drive to front wheel drive, or from normally-aspired to the turbo and super charged, diesel turbo and rotary engine. The area of modification is strictly limited for this production car race.

Class A is the top category with 18 entries. 2006 Champion Nissan South Africa factory has three Nissan 350Z registered. There are also three more privateer entries. Their rival forces are the BMW with 3 factory entered 330i and 2 privateer entries. Audi has also a competitive car, almost to the factory level with their latest A4 V6 3.2liter Quattro. 2.5 liter engine SUBARU Impreza WRX also takes part in this category. Class T is for the force injected fuel-engined small cars with cars in likes of Mini Cooper S, Volks Wagen Golf GTI or Toyota Corolla RunX Super Charger.

The series takes place in circuits like Kyalami and WesBank along with the street course and fought in 20 races under 10 events (two races each day). For balancing of power, the winner of the race must bear the handicap weight which will accumulate until it reaches 60kg.
race calendar
Round 1 2007.03.03 Kyalami
Round 2 2007.03.30 Killarney
Round 3 2007.05.05 Phakisa
Round 4 2007.06.03 Wesbank
Round 5 2007.07.07 Kyalami
Round 6 2007.08.04 Killarney
Round 7 2007.09.01 Zwartkops
Round 8 2007.09.29 Aldo Scribante
Round 9 2007.10.20 BMSC
Round10 2007.11.24 Kyalami